IAAF World Athlete of the Year 2017

October 9, 2017

With the selection process to choose the 2017 World Athletes of the Year now underway, here’s a closer look at this year’s nominees who were selected by an international panel of athletics experts, comprising representatives from all six continental areas of the IAAF.

The winner will be announced at the IAAF Athletics Awards 2017 in Monaco on Friday 24 November.

Support our NACAC athletes!!!

Brittney Reese (USA)
World long jump champion. Jumped a world-leading 7.13m.

Related image


Omar McLeod (JAM)
World 110m hurdles champion. World leader and National Record.

Image result for omar mcleod


Christian Taylor (USA)
World triple jump champion, IAAF Diamond League champion. Jumped a world-leading 18.11m.

Image result for christian taylor


Sam Kendricks (USA)
World pole vault champion, IAAF Diamond League champion. Undefeated all year in 17 competitions.

Image result for sam kendricks

Photos: copyrights


The women’s nominees :

Almaz Ayana (ETH) World 10,000m champion .

Maria Lasitskene (ANA) World high jump champion.

Hellen Obiri (KEN) World 5000m champion.

Sally Pearson (AUS) World 100m hurdles champion.

Sandra Perkovic (CRO) World discus champion.

Caster Semenya (RSA) World 800m champion.

Ekaterini Stefanidi (GRE) World pole vault champion.

Nafissatou Thiam (BEL) World heptathlon champion. .

Anita Wlodarczyk (POL) World hammer champion.


The men’s nominees:

Mutaz Essa Barshim (QAT) World high jump champion.

Pawel Fajdek (POL) World hammer champion.

Mo Farah (GBR) World 10,000m champion.

Elijah Manangoi (KEN) World 1500m champion.

Luvo Manyonga (RSA) World long jump champion.

Wayde van Niekerk (RSA) World 400m champion,.

Johannes Vetter (GER) World javelin champion.